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Distracted Driving Facts

• NHTSA reported (2012), driver distraction was cause of 
18% of fatal crashes (3,328 deaths with 421,000 add’l
injuries)

• Va. Tech Transportation Institute found text messaging 
creates a crash risk 23 x greater than driving while not 
distracted

• 11% of drivers aged 18-20 involved in crashes (and 
survived) admitted to sending/receiving texts while 
driving

• Tx A & M Health Science Center School of Public Health 
study found car crash rates declined between 2003 & 
2010 by 7% in states that implemented texting bans
– Unable to draw a direct relationship, but correlation suggested



Distracted Driving Facts

• University of Utah Dept. of Psychology study 
found the following comparisons between cell 
phone using drivers & drunk drivers:
– Cell Phone users were 

• Involved in more rear-end collisions,
• Had a 7.5% greater following distance
• Took 14.8% longer to recover speed lost during breaking

– Drunk drivers tended to brake 26.1% harder than cell 
phone using drivers

– Study found no statistical difference between the use 
of hand held & hands-free devices



Cell Phone/Texting Laws 
• Per Insurance Institute for Highway Safety:

– 14 states & D.C. ban use of hand held devices
– 37 states & D.C. ban use of cell phones by novice 

drivers (including Texas)
– Texting is banned for drivers in 46 states & D.C. (Texas, 

Missouri, Montana & Arizona do not)
– According to TxDOT, at least 40 Texas cities have 

enacted city wide texting bans; in Houston Metro Area:
• Bellaire
• Conroe
• Galveston
• Missouri City
• Tomball
• West University Place



Wireless Communications Device

• Wireless Communications Device is 
defined as a device that uses a 
commercial mobile service as defined by 
47 U.S.C. Section 332.
– Cell phones
– Tablets
– Laptops, if connected to a mobile service



Texas Transportation Code

• Allows Municipalities to prohibit Cell Phone 
use in School Zones
– Must post sign at entry to every school zone 

in the jurisdiction
• Signs must state that:

– Wireless Communication Device use is 
Prohibited

– Vehicle Operator using a wireless 
communications device is subject to a fine



Texas Transportation Code

• Allows cities to prohibit use of Wireless 
Communications Devices while driving 
throughout the city
– City must post signs at each entry point into a city 

from a State, U.S. or Interstate highway
– Signs must state that:

• Wireless Communications Device use within the 
city is Prohibited

• Vehicle Operator using a wireless communications 
device is subject to a fine



Defenses

• Used to make an emergency call
• Vehicle was stopped
• Operator is using a hands free device
• If prohibition is only for school zones, a 

sign was not posted at the entrance to the 
school zone



What This Means for Houston

• Cell Phone Ban in School Zone
– Approximately 8000 entry points

• Some School Districts have installed some signs 
(less than 1000)

– Signs cost approximately $150 each to install
– Total est. cost: $1.05M to $1.4M



What This Means for Houston

• City Wide Texting Ban
• Roughly 44 entry points on State, U.S. & 

Interstate Highways
– Toll Roads not included
– May need 2 signs (main lanes & feeder roads)

• Facilities maintained by TxDOT & sign 
installation cost est. up to $625 each

• Conservative estimate (88 signs): $55,000


